IUBio Biosequences .. Software .. Molbio soft .. Network News .. FTP

[X-plor] A workshop on macromolecular crystallography at the one-micron scale.

Robert Sweet via x-plor%40net.bio.net (by sweet from bnl.gov)
Sat Apr 18 11:50:49 EST 2009

MX Frontiers at the One Micron Scale  July 23 - July 24, 2009

Organized by Dieter Schneider of the Biology Department, and Lonny Berman 
and Marc Allaire, of the NSLS at Brookhaven National Lab.

A web site describing the workshop is here: 

  We invite you to learn from the foremost structural biologists using 
micro-focused x-ray beams and from the most experienced designers of their 
beamlines about the unique scientific and experimental capabilities at the 
one-micron scale. We invite you to take part in discussions of these 
recent developments. We invite you to weigh in on how they may be 
translated to the design new crystallographic beamlines at NSLS-II in ways 
that will optimally serve your needs and fully exploit the uniquely small, 
stable, and brilliant beams expected to become available here by 2014.

This workshop in the 'New Opportunities' series initiated by Qun Shen, the 
NSLS-II Experimental Facilities Director, will explore structural biology 
scientific opportunities made possible through the use of micro-beams. It 
will include studies of difficult-to-crystallize systems and systems for 
which only small or imperfect crystals could be grown. The impact of using 
such small beams on mitigating radiation damage of samples will be 
discussed from first principles to experimental verification. Challenges 
in producing and using such small beams, and working with very tiny 
crystals will be explored, including experimental methods that may require 

Speakers -- The following distinguished scientists have agreed to speak 
and lead discussions:

David Eisenberg (University of California at Los Angeles)
Gwyndaf Evans (Diamond Light Source, UK)
Kenneth Evans-Lutterodt (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
Robert Fischetti (Argonne National Laboratory)
Elspeth Garman (University of Oxford, UK)
Wayne Hendrickson (Columbia University)
James Holton (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboartory)
Antonio Lanzirotti (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
Sean McSweeney (European Synchrotron Radiation Facility, Fr)
Colin Nave (Diamond Light Source, UK)
Christian Riekel (European Synchrotron Radiation Facility, Fr)
Gebhard Schertler (MRC Laboratory for Molecular Biology, UK)
Clemens Schulze-Briese (Swiss Light Source)
John Spence (Arizona State University)
Masaki Yamamoto (RIKEN Harima Institute, SPring-8, Japan)

Format and Venue

This one-day-and-a-half workshop will be held at Brookhaven National 
Laboratory. On the evening of July 22, an informal reception at the 
Brookhaven Center will encourage registration and first contacts. The 
workshop will convene in earnest on Thursday, July 23, and continue 
through midday Friday with sessions and several discussions. The Thursday 
evening dinner will feature an after dinner talk that is part of the 
workshop program and provide opportunities for more in-depth and personal 

The workshop agenda is focused on invited speakers and discussions. 
However, we welcome relevant poster contributions. Poster boards will be 
available outside the meeting auditorium during all coffee breaks. We will 
post abstracts of contributions as well as 8.5 by 11" sized pdf versions 
of posters on this website.

Costs and Registration

Please register early using the workshop registration page. The 
registration fee is a modest $75 and covers breakfast, lunch, and coffee 
breaks. The cost for dinner on Thursday night - including the after dinner 
talk - is $50.


The National Synchrotron Light Source II Project
The National Synchrotron Light Source
The National Institutes of Health NCRR
The National Institutes of Health NIGMS
The Department of Energy OBER

More information about the X-plor mailing list

Send comments to us at biosci-help [At] net.bio.net