Fermentation Biotech Conference - Call for Posters

Justin Neway justin.o at worldnet.att.net
Thu Jul 10 13:50:42 EST 1997

Fermentation Biotech Conference - Call for Posters


The conference on Recent Advances in Fermentation Technology (RAFT II),
will be held in San Diego, November 15 - 18, 1997.  Oral presentations have
now been finalized, and we are inviting poster presentations.

If you and/or a colleague are interested in presenting a poster at the
conference, please contact SIM headquarters (info at simhq.org) and request an
abstract form.  Please complete and return the form to SIM by September 1,

Society for Industrial Microbiology
3929 Old Lee Highway, Ste. 92A
Fairfax, VA 22030-2421, U.S.A.
Tel: 703-691-3357
Fax: 703-691-7991
e-mail: info at simhq.org

A listing of topic areas and other general information for the conference

Sessions and Convenors:

Innovative Methods for Monitoring or Controlling Bioprocesses

Convenors: Bing Miller, Fermtech, and Robert D. Schwartz, Ph.D., Abbott

Micro-gravity Fermentations

Convenor: David Klaus, Ph.D., Aerospace Eng. Sciences, University of Colorado

Strain Development for Improved Fermentation Properties

Convenors: Carol A. Baker Ph.D., Pharmacia & Upjohn, Inc., and Alan Berry,
Ph.D., BioTechnical Resources, Inc.

Fermentation Optimization, Control and Process Improvement

Convenors: Amit Vasavada, Ph.D., Kelco, and Konstantin B. Konstantinov,
Bayer Corporation.

Metabolic Engineering

Convenors: Scott D. Power, PhD, Genencor International, and Prof. Lonnie O.
Ingram, University of Florida.

Cell Culture

Convenors: Sadettin S. Ozturk, Ph.D., Bayer Corporation, and Geno Gramp,
Amgen Corporation.

Conference Chairs:

Justin O. Neway, Ph.D., Vice President, Applications
Aegis Analytical Corp, 3197 Nelson Road, Longmont, CO 80503
Tel & Fax: (303) 440-7561
e-mail: jneway at aegiscorp.com

James C. Liao, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering
Texas A&M University, College Station, TX 77843-3122
Tel: (409) 845-9807.  Fax: (409) 845-6446
e-mail: j-liao at tamu.edu

Keynote Speaker: Frederick C. Neidhardt, Ph.D., Acting Vice President for
Research, University of Michigan

Banquet Speaker: Steve C. Mendell, President & CEO, Prizm Pharmaceuticals

Advisory Committee:

Barry C. Buckland  PhD, Vice-President, Bioprocess R&D, Merck Research

Prof. Arnold Demain, Professor of Industrial Microbiology, Department of
Biology, MIT

Prof. Michael Flickinger, Professor of Biochemistry, University of Minnesota

Karl J. Sanford, PhD, Vice President, Technology Division, Genencor

Prof. Anthony J. Sinskey,  Professor of Microbiology, Department of
Biology, MIT

Conference Deadlines:

Poster abstracts due: Sept. 1
Final program information and poster order: Oct. 1
Programs will be mailed out: Oct. 27

Justin O. Neway, Ph.D., VP, Applications
Aegis Analytical Corporation
3197 Nelson Road, Longmont, CO 80503-9003
Tel: (303) 440-7561, Fax: (303) 450-4125

Knowledge-based Software for Regulated Manufacturers

More information about the Microbio mailing list

Send comments to us at biosci-help [At] net.bio.net