IUBio Biosequences .. Software .. Molbio soft .. Network News .. FTP

[Computational-biology] SDM/IBM Early Career Data Mining Researcher Award - Call for nominations

SDM Publicity Chairs via comp-bio%40net.bio.net (by sdm.publicity from gmail.com)
Tue Jan 8 23:33:35 EST 2019

Apologies for cross-postings.


*About the Award: *The SDM/IBM Early Career Data Mining Researcher Award
for Excellence in Data Analytics seeks to recognize one individual (no
runner up/ honorable mention) who has made outstanding, influential, and
lasting contributions in the field of data analysis and who will be within
10 years of having received their PhD degree as of the calendar year prior
to the year of the award. For example, an award winner in 2019 should have
received their PhD no earlier than 2008.

*Nominations:* A candidate may be nominated by any member of the community
except members of the Award Selection Committee. An individual may nominate
at most one candidate for this award. Nominations must be submitted to the
Award Selection Committee Chair by email with “SDM/IBM Research Award” as
the subject. A nomination application (a single PDF file) should contain
the following:


   Name/email of nominator (self-nominations are not permitted).

   Name/email of candidate being nominated.

   A statement by the nominator (maximum of 500 words) as to why the nominee
   is highly deserving of the award. Note that since the award is for
   outstanding contributions, the statement and supporting letters should
   address what the contributions are and why they are both outstanding and
   significant. The nomination should also list the names and email addresses
   of up to 3 persons who will provide letters supporting the nomination.

   CV of the nominee (the CV must clearly indicate date of degree received)

   Up to three support letters. The letters should be collected by the
   nominator and included in the nomination. The letter writers may not be the
   nominator nor Award Selection Committee members.

*Important Dates:*


   Nomination Deadline:     February 1, 2019

   Results Notification:        March 1, 2019

*Award Selection Committee: *

Haesun Park (Chair), Georgia Institute of Technology, *hpark from cc.gatech.edu
<hpark from cc.gatech.edu>*

Arindam Banerjee, University of Minnesota

Ilse C.F. Ipsen, North Carolina State University

Huan Liu, Arizona State University

Michael Ng, Hong Kong Baptist University

Zoran Obradovic, Temple University (Co-Chair/Steering Committee

Srinivasan Parthasarathy, The Ohio State University

*Note that members of the selection committee cannot be nominators or
provide support letters*. Also note that the intent is to select exactly
one awardee – re-nominations for subsequent years are permissible as long
as the individuals continue to maintain eligibility. The committee at its
discretion may elect not to make an award in a particular year.

More information about the Comp-bio mailing list

Send comments to us at biosci-help [At] net.bio.net