IUBio Biosequences .. Software .. Molbio soft .. Network News .. FTP

[Arabidopsis] Register to vote for new NAASC members

Joanna Friesner via arab-gen%40net.bio.net (by jdfriesner from ucdavis.edu)
Sat Jan 16 20:19:18 EST 2010

Dear North American Arabidopsis Researchers,

This is the annual request for nominations for two new members of the North
American Arabidopsis Steering Committee (NAASC).

Only Arabidopsis researchers in North America can nominate, vote, and serve.
To participate, first register with TAIR (if you haven't already):

(Forgot if you are registered with TAIR? Go to
http://www.arabidopsis.org/servlets/Community?action=remind, type in your
last and/or first name, hit search. Choose your name from the list and
log-in to verify your current email address on file. You can have also your
information emailed to you, or register as a new user if you've never
registered before.)

Election Procedure:
-An email asking for nominations will be sent to registered North American
TAIR members on or around February 8, 2010. Nominees are emailed to
jdfriesner from ucdavis.edu. Self-nomination is accepted and previous NAASC
members may serve again.
-The nomination deadline is March 1. An email will be sent around March 22
asking you to vote for up to 2 names on the nomination list (via a secure
TAIR webpage). 
-The voting deadline is April 23.
-The top 2 candidates will be contacted and their willingness to serve
confirmed. Winners will be announced around the middle of May.

Without the efforts of the NAASC, organization of the Arabidopsis Conference
and funding to attend the annual Arabidopsis conference for young scientists
and underrepresented minorities would be jeopardized. 

In addition, NAASC members support Arabidopsis resources such as TAIR and

NAASC also represents North America to the international community. Service
on the NAASC is important and highly appreciated. Two members that rotate
off NAASC this year need to be replaced and we need community members to
first nominate good Arabidopsis community candidates and then vote for those
who agree to stand.

NAASC officers currently are (listed in order of most to least seniority):
Julian Schroeder (UC San Diego), Caren Chang (Univ. of Maryland), George
Haughn (Univ. of British Columbia, Scott Poethig (Univ. of PA-Philadelphia),
Jane Glazebrook (University of Minnesota-St. Paul), Mark Estelle (UC San
Diego), Xinnian Dong (Duke University), and Blake Meyers (University of
Delaware). Their service to the community is much appreciated.

About serving on NAASC:
Members serve for four full calendar years, beginning around the date of the
Annual International Conference on Arabidopsis Research, and rotating off
following the Conference held in their fourth year of service.

-Originally established in 1992 in response to the need for elected North
American representatives to the Multinational Arabidopsis Steering
Committee, NAASC has evolved into the main organizing and fundraising body
for the International Conference on Arabidopsis Research when it is held in
North America. 
-The NAASC solicits funds to help North American junior scientists and
minorities travel to these international meetings. Additionally, the NAASC
serves as a liaison between members of the community and government and
not-for-profit granting agencies and provides representation of the
community to service facilities such as ABRC and TAIR.
-The NAASC contributes to the annual progress report on international
Arabidopsis research efforts.

More information about the roles, history, and past members of the NAASC can
be found at:

Best regards,

Joanna Friesner
NAASC Coordinator

More information about the Arab-gen mailing list

Send comments to us at biosci-help [At] net.bio.net