IUBio Biosequences .. Software .. Molbio soft .. Network News .. FTP

Plant Scientists Recognized with International Award

Prakash prakash at tusk.edu
Tue Apr 3 05:16:44 EST 2001

<x-flowed>Plant Scientists Recognized  with International Award


The Kumho Cultural Foundation of Korea, beginning in 2000, presents
annually the Kumho Award, a prize of US $30,000, for meritorious
research in plant molecular biology/biotechnology. The prize is for
the recipient's personal use. The recipient(s) is(are) flown to
Korea, at Kumho expense, to attend the award ceremony and to deliver
an award lecture at the Kumho Life and Environmental Engineering
Laboratory (KLESL) in Kwagju, Korea. The ISPMB, by means of a
specially appointed committee, chooses the awardee.

2001 Awardees The Kumho Foundation wishes to recognize the
contributions of the entire Arabidopsis Genome Initiative for the
successful completion of the sequencing of the Arabidopsis genome.
Towards this end, several scientists have been designated by the
Foundation to share the Kumho Award on behalf of the Arabidopsis
Genome Initiative:

   Professor Michael Bevan,  John Innes Centre, Norwich, UK and
University of East Anglia
Joseph R. Ecker, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies in La
Jolla California.
Rob Martienssen, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Francis Quetier, EVRY University and the Deputy director of GENOSCOPE.
Chris Somerville, Carnegie Institution, Stanford University
Satoshi Tabata, Japan
Athanasios Theologis, Plant Gene Expression Center/USDA
Owen White

Call for Nominations for 2002 Kumho Award: Any ISPMB member can
nominate candidates for the award by contacting Society headquarters,
ldure at arches.uga.edu. There is no nomination form. Nominations for
the 2002 award should be mailed to the Society by 1 November 2001.


More information about the Arab-gen mailing list

Send comments to us at biosci-help [At] net.bio.net